Farewell Post

Hi everyone, this will be my final post for this blog Are You Astro. Unfortunately, I will not be continuing this blog in the future. It difficult it has been for me to find topics for my post as well as finding people that were related to my topic to interview.

The post I felt I did best on were the ones that involved comparing zodiac signs. I feel that the post were I was able to compare the four element signs was my favorite and best one. I found that it was easier to talk to students about astrology rather than professors and astrologists. Another post that I felt proud of was my audio post different perspectives from students on astrology. It was hard to find a relevant person to do the audio interview with because a lot of people either declined the interview or went out of business. My aggregation post was also one that I was proud of, I did get a few likes on it as well. I would say it was one of the best ones I did because I was able to inform my readers on more about astrology as well as teaching myself a lesson on it.

Another post that I enjoyed doing was the one where I compared a libra guy and a libra girl and if they were as similar as they are supposed to be. I found this one to be fun, because I had to find the same sign in both genders, but overall I felt that it was a successful first post. A recent post that I also felt proud of was the one where I interviewed a blogger who’s beat was similar to mine. I liked this post because I feel like I had a better chance of finding someone to interview. There were plenty of astrology bloggers and it was a relief to be able to find one so easily.

Overall I feel that having a blog was a way to learn more about online journalism. It shows that journalists still have the same requirements of going out in the world and reporting the facts. I did enjoy the experience of the learning about online journalism hands on by having a blog. The only thing I regret in this process was the beat I chose, I tried to stay away from mainstream topics, but it left me with having a hard time to do each post. My advice to a student who wants to do an astrology blog is to not do one because of all the stress it comes with trying to find someone relevant is too much. Also, time management is crucial with a blog, and trying to find anyone in a specific time frame makes it even more challenging. The process was an awesome experience and gave me a way to have myself published already.

Thanks for reading 🙂

-Danielle LaSassa, Scorpio

Leave a Reply

